Shawnee Dispatch

SMEF provided $85,000 in grants and scholarship for the 09-10 school year

June 30, 2010

The Shawnee Mission Education Foundation supported students and teachers in a big way this year, awarding more than $85,000 in scholarships and grants, nearly $14,000 more than in 2009.

The Foundation doled out $27,225 in Excellence in Education grants to 22 teachers, more than $38,000 in student scholarships and $20,000 to the school district to further volunteer initiatives.

Last year, the foundation awarded $72,704 in grants and scholarships. Students received $35,850 scholarships, teachers received seven excellence in education grants totaling $16,557 and a $20,000 for the continued volunteer initiatives.

This year, the foundation added two new student scholarships, the Joe Thimes Scholarship and the First National Bank Business Plan Competition Scholarship.

In April, the 22 recipients of the Excellence in Education Grants were surprised with balloons and over sized checks.

Recipients of the grants ranged from elementary to high school instructors to implement their new initiatives during the 2010-11 school year. Initiatives included purchasing eReaders in support of reluctant readers, projects to study robotics, digital storytelling, video modeling for students on the autism spectrum and math projects.

The 2010-11 student scholarships ranged from memorial scholarships to specialized fields for seniors. Juniors also received Stepping Stone scholarships for specialized camps and academies.

2010-11 E2 Grant Recipients:

“Robotics: WE can DO it, too!”

Grant Recipient: Courtney Moffitt; Broken Arrow Elementary

“eReaders Can Support Reluctant Readers” – underwritten by

Mainstreet Credit Union in honor of Dr. Jack Chalender

Grant Recipient: Barbara Novak; Antioch Middle

“Developing Flexible Thinking in Math:

Decomposing and Recomposing Numbers”

Grant Recipient: Mary Fulbright; East Antioch Elementary

“Conscious Discipline”

Grant Recipients: Ada Wallace; Crestview Elementary

Anne Hoff; Bonjour Elementary

“The Real Sense of Science”

Grant Recipient: Jennie Reck; Santa Fe Trail Elementary

“Live from Bluejacket Flint!”

Grant Recipient: Lucas Shiver; Bluejacket Flint Elementary

“What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

T-Tapping Our Way to Transition Success”

Grant Recipients: Kelly Chapman; SM East High School

Aubrey Gilhaus; SM West High School

Jean Porter; SM North High School

Lisa Primrose-Granger; SM Northwest High School

Bev Silvers; SM South High School

Mary Rogers; District

“Digital Storytelling Project”

Grant Recipients: Sherri Crawford, Sally Jones, Rosanne Lawler & Becky Tate;

SM North High School

“Drums, Movement and Chimes – Oh My!”

Grant Recipient: Marilyn Lake; Brookwood Elementary

“Supporting Behavior the Bronco Way” – underwritten by:

Spencer Fane Britt & Browne LLP

Grant Recipients: Alejandro Schlagel, Principal; Bonjour Elementary

“Use of Editing to Enhance and Expedite Video Modeling for

Students with Autism Spectrum Disorder”

Grant Recipients: Mendy Ruthrauff, Amy Quinlen & Lisa Bergeson;

Shawnee Mission Instructional Support Center

2010-11 Scholarship Recipients:

A.C. Eley Debate and Forensics Scholarship

Leigha Empson, SM West

Olivia Sullivan, SM East

Cliff Bath Scholarship for Excellence in Restaurant Hospitality

Pablo Munoz-Sevilla, SM Northwest

Julia Packham, 2009 SM Northwest Graduate (Renewal- Year 2)

Dan Dakotas Art Scholarship

Sally Carmichael, SM West

Nicole Fenn, SM West

First National Bank Business Plan Competition Scholarship

Melanie Arroyo- SM North

Marlena Birkel- SM East

Caroline Sheridan- SM East

Brooke Royle- SM East

Jack Ballard Music Scholarship

Andrew Shaw, SM Northwest

Joe Thimes Scholarship

Drue Gockel, SM Northwest

Rex Twibell Memorial Scholarship

Christian Dennis, SM North

Shawnee Mission English Language Learner Scholarship

Joy Fu, SM South

Erika Garcia-Reyes, SM Northwest

Alejandra Morales, SM West

SM South Foundation Scholarships

Sara Busby

Katherine Constant

Lisa Faillace

Jenny Ham

Matthew Hennek

Joshua Knowles

Lauren Schauwecker

Stephen Clegg Scholarship

Thomas Dunn, SM North

Zachary Watkins, SM North

Stepping Stone Scholarships:

Connor Bowman, SM West

University of Kansas- Midwestern Music Academy

Spencer Brown, SM East

University of Kansas- Engineering Camp

Blaire Ginsburg, SM South

University of MO- Kansas City- “New Letters” Weekend Writers Conference

Jessica Schumacher, SM West

William Woods University- Equestrian Sciences

Aaron Thornburg, SM Northwest

MO Institute of Science & Technology- Jackling Introduction to Engineering

Joanna Underwood, SM North

School of the Art Institute of Chicago- Early College Art Lab

Marisa Yates, SM West

Emporia State, Kansas Future Teacher Academy

Victor Zaharopoulos, SM West

George Mason University, AHEP Academy for Greek-American Students

Student Leadership Award, underwritten by US Bank

Rachel Bernard, SM South

Max Wiebrecht, SM Northwest

Originally published at: