Archive for Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Board to study surveillance cameras

May 26, 2010

Vandals beware. By sometime this fall the district might have its eye on you.

During Monday night’s De Soto USD 232 Board of Education meeting, Barney Carroll, with Surround Consulting presented board members with a safety and security analysis for the district.

During his presentation, Carroll said there were five phases for school safety: video surveillance, visitor identification, access/key control, crisis management and policy and procedures.

“We all believe we are safe,” Carroll said. “We want to and need to believe we are safe. Hopefully our preparedness will allow for decisive action and a positive resolution.”

Most of Carroll’s presentation focused on the first phase of the plan.

“Video will never solve anything, but it certainly helps with a lot of things.” Carroll said. “I say that because no matter how much you cover, something will happen at the far reaches (beyond coverage).”

Carroll reported that 531 cameras would be needed to cover the entire school district at a cost of $955,000. For $668,000 the district could use 331 cameras to cover most of its buildings.

Because this was the first time many of the board members had seen the cost of the system, Superintendent Ron Wimmer suggested a board subcommittee study the different bids and look at funding options, then bring a report back to the board for a final vote.

The board agreed to take the bids back for further review.

In other business the board:

• Recognized the service and work done by many people in the district. For their 20 years of service the board recognized: Sarah Brown, gifted teacher at Starside Elementary School and Lexington Trails Middle School; Debra Gudenkauf, social worker, Horizon Elementary School and Mill Valley High School; Deborah Likes, paraprofessional at MVHS; Linda McPherson, music teacher at Mize Elementary School; Jacqueline Traylor, second grade teacher, Clear Creek Elementary School. The board gave the Kansas University 25 Years in Education Award to: Joyce Curry, media specialist, HES; Susan Holloway, fires grade teacher at MES; Denise Reinoehl, reading teacher, Prairie Ridge Elementary school; Janice Wilcox, computer teacher, CCES. The district also recognized those who have worked for the district for 30 years: Patricia Long, instructional specialist for the district’s special services; Patsy Lucas, English as a second language teacher, LTMS. The board also recognized Margo Fairchild, physical education teacher at Mill Creek Middle School for her 35 years in the district.

• The De Soto Teachers Association also presented the following teachers with a Teacher of Excellence Award: Nancy Perry, DHS; Laurie Deuschle and Kale Mann, MVHS; Gayle Moriarity, LTMS; Dena Novak, MCMS; Kathy Hawkins, MTMS; Julie Barcus, CCES; Carlie Gill, HES; Christy Kaminski and Monica Wooten, MES; Brandi Leggett, PRES; Tammy Whitlow, Riverview Elementary School; Kristl Llamas, Kris Meyer and Vergie Opodycke, SES.

• The board recognized the retirements of Carol Acheson, business and computer teacher at DHS; Linda Acton, administrative assistant at the district’s technology department; Sue Andrews, third-grade teacher at MES; Tamara DeMuth, special education teacher at LTMS; Fredda Doerksen, math teacher, MTMS; Margo Fairchild, physical education teacher at MCMS; Barb Goodin, music teacher at MTMS; Barb Inman with Parents as Teachers; Debra Litton, gifted and communication arts teacher at DHS; Jan McElwain, art teacher MES; Joe Novak, principal at MVHS.

• Unanimously approved a $258,032 contract from O’Donnel Way Construction for parking lot renovations at MVHS, DHS and MTMS.

• Unanimously approved a $223,761 bid from Rangel Television Systems to install a new media room for the MVHS students.

• Met in executive session for 15 minutes. No action was taken.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.