Archive for Monday, December 5, 2011

Cougars, Indians garner SFL soccer honors

December 5, 2011

Life in the Sunflower League is never easy in boys soccer. The talent-heavy league has produced numerous state champions, and this year it included Class 6A state runner-up Olathe South.

Shawnee Mission Northwest — which surged to the No. 1 state ranking early in the season — ultimately finished third in the Sunflower League, produced its share of the league’s top players. Seven Cougars garnered All-Sunflower League honors, including four on the first team.

The Cougars boasted one of the top scoring duos in the Sunflower League in seniors Bill Kolega and David Fancher, and both were recognized for their play with first-team honors. Kolega scored a team-high 19 goals to go with seven assists. Meanwhile, Fancher had 14 goals and a team-high 15 assists.

Senior midfielder Connor Holman was a first-team honoree after scoring seven goals and dishing three assists. In addition, senior defender Colby Weishaar (four goals, one assist) was a first-team selection.

Senior defender Christian Caldwell (one goal) was a second-team selection, and senior forward Logan Knisely (three goals, 10 assists) and senior defender Aaron Terrill (two goals, three assists) were named to the honorable mention squad.

SMNW finished the season with an 11-4-2 record.

Shawnee Mission North (4-11-2) also had a handful of players recognized. Senior forward Tony Pereira and senior midfielder Romeo Munoz garnered second-team honors. Senior defender Caesar Moreno and freshman goalkeeper Kenneth Herron were honorable mention selections.

Olathe Northwest senior Graham Dobbins was selected as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year after a 19-goal season. Olathe East’s Michael Rydberg, a goalkeeper, was chosen as the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Olathe Northwest’s Chris Graham was selected as the Coach of the Year after guiding the Ravens to a second-place finish behind Olathe South.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.