Archive for Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Election central: Conservative Republicans take lead in primary

August 7, 2012

Conservative Republicans were the clear winners in all local legislative primary races, according to the final, unofficial results of Tuesday’s election.

In the race for Kansas Senate District 10, incumbent Mary Pilcher-Cook took 64 percent of total votes cast with 4,467 votes. Her opponent, Tom Wertz, received 2,488 votes.

Incumbent Brett Hildabrand carried the most votes in the race for Kansas House of Representatives District 17, receiving nearly 58 percent of total votes cast with 1,672 votes. His opponent, Jacob Leib, received 1,217 votes.

With a total of 1,782 votes received, incumbent John Rubin received more than twice the votes of his opponent, Ward 2 Shawnee City Council member Neal Sawyer, in the race for Kansas House District 18. Sawyer received 888 votes.

In the race for Kansas House District 39, Charles Macheers led with nearly 63 percent of total votes cast, or a total of 1,155 votes. Stephanie Meyer, his opponent, received 686 total votes.

In an infinitely closer race were Republican opponents for Johnson County Sheriff, with Frank Denning beating out Ken Smith by a mere 1 percent of total votes cast. Denning received 25,125 votes, while Smith trailed just behind with 24,624.

Results don’t become official until the state canvass is conducted.

The Johnson County Election Office reports that about 17 percent of registered voters cast ballots in Tuesday’s primary election.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.