Archive for Thursday, March 26, 2015

Mill Valley girls take second at SMN 50s Invite

Shawnee Mission North freshman Merriman wins 100 butterfly, backstroke

March 26, 2015

The Mill Valley girls swimming team took second place at the Lady Indians 50s Sprint Invitational on Wednesday at Shawnee Mission North High School.

The Lady Jaguars finished the meet with a total score of 406.5, proceeded only by St. Thomas Aquinas, which posted a score of 442.5.

Shawnee Mission North placed fourth with a score of 285, Shawnee Mission Northwest took fifth with 202, and De Soto took sixth with 182.

Shawnee Mission North freshman Joely Merriman produced three first-place finishes, capturing gold in the 100-yard backstroke (1:01.96), 100-yard butterfly (104.93) and the 200-yard freestyle relay (1:54.49), which she swam with teammates Caitlyn Howard, Tessa Poterbin, and Amanda Enyart.

Mill Valley posted a pair of first-place finishes with Vicki Robinson winning the 50-yard breaststroke (39.02) and Jazlyn Schwegman winning the 100-yard freestyle (1:03.15).

The Lady Jaguars took second place in the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 2:07.56. That team was comprised of Vigneulle Puliatti, Claudia Meredith, Sherry McLeod and Maddie Sprenger. Puliatti also took silver in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 1:10.45.

De Soto’s Gabrielle Mallozzi placed second in both the 50- and 100-yard freestyle events with times of 28.27 and 1:03.37, respectively.

Mill Valley posted six third-place finishes, including two by Meredith, who took bronze in both the 50-yard freestyle (28.55) and 100-yard freestyle (1:04.40).

Other third-place finishers for the Lady Jaguars included Puliatti in the 50-yard butterfly (30.37), McLeod in the 100-yard backstroke (1:10.46), Schwegman in the 100-yard butterfly (1:10.25) and Megan Pastine in the 50-yard breaststroke (40.10).

Shawnee Mission North captured third in both the 200-yard medley and 400-yard freestyle relays. The medley team was comprised of Merriman, Howard, Enyart and Aleah Sadeghi, clocked in at 2:11.09. The freestyle team, comprised of Poterbin, Enyart, Howard and Erin Robertson, touched the wall at 4:32.99.

Jon Poorman is the sports editor at The Dispatch. Follow him on Twitter at @JonPoorman for all of the latest community sports news.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.