Archive for Monday, May 25, 2015

Mill Valley boys win regional track championship

May 25, 2015

The Mill Valley and St. James Academy boys track and field teams came away with first- and fifth-place finishes at the Class 5A regional meet on Friday at Blue Valley West High School, qualifying several athletes for state competition in the process.

The top four athletes and relay teams in each event qualified for the Class 5A state meet, which will be held Friday and Saturday at Wichita State University’s Cessna Stadium.

Mill Valley had three regional champions with Kurt Loevenstein in the 800-meter run (1:57.23), Deric Stephenson in the javelin (163-03.00) and Colton Bray in the pole vault (14-06.00).

The Jaguars’ 4x100-meter relay team of Chase Midyett, Cole Morris, Christian Jegen and Andrew Hicks took first place with a time of 43.21. Mill Valley also won the 4x400-meter relay with a time of 8:19.20. That team was comprised of Loevenstein, Derek Meeks, Teddy Gillespie and Hicks.

Second-place finishers for Mill Valley included Tai Nguyen in the 100- and 200-meter dash events (11.23, 22.46), Cody Deas in the 110- and 300-meter hurdles (15.76, 40.85), Loevenstein in the 1,600-meter run (4:29.11), Greyson McDonald in the javelin (145-02.00) and Conner Kaifes in the shot put (46-08.00).

Third-place finishers included Chase Midyett in the 110- and 300-meter hurdles (16.09, 42.29), Meeks in the 800- and 1,600-meter runs (1:57.56, 4:32.58) and Colby Sirivangxay in the triple jump (41-07.00). The Jaguars’ 4x400-meter relay team of Loevenstein, Deas, Gillespie and Kyal Long took third with a time of 3:28.10.

Fourth-place finishers included Sebastian Peterson in the 110-meter hurdles (16.70) and the long jump (20-05.50) and Cooper Hutteger in the pole vault (12-00.00).

Thunder finish fifth

St. James was led by its 4x400-meter relay team of Jake Burgmeier, Nicholas Dykmann, Connor Moore and Braxton Lewis, who won the regional title with a time of 3:24.56.

Lewis took second place in the 400-meter dash (51.02), and the Thunders’ 4x100-meter relay team of Burgmeier, Dykmann, Moore and Lewis took second with a time of 43.62.

Third-place finishers included Sammy Wheeler in the high jump (5-10.00) and Trey Keith in the javelin (145-01.00).

Michael Rizzi finished fourth in the 400-meter dash (52.78), and St. James’ 4x800-meter relay team of Kyle Banash, Benjamin Huerter, Joseph Hanson and Craig Luby took fourth with a time of 8:27.26.

Jon Poorman is the sports editor at The Dispatch. Follow him on Twitter at @JonPoorman for all of the latest community sports news.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.