Archive for Sunday, November 1, 2015

Akalu, Born capture Class 6A cross country titles

November 1, 2015

SM North’s Belesti Akalu and SM Northwest’s Molly Born have been dominant all season. It was no different on Saturday as both runners capped their 2015 seasons in grand fashion.

Akalu and Born won the individual Class 6A cross country titles at Rim Rock Farm in Lawrence — Akalu with a time of 15 minutes, 43.40 seconds, and Born with a time of 17 minutes, 58.60 seconds.

The SM North boys finished fifth as a team with a combined score of 130. Olathe North won the title, finishing with 97. Olathe East (109), SM East (119) rounded out the top five. SM Northwest finished 11th, finishing with 227.

SM North also got a great performance from junior Alex Akalu, who finished seventh with a time of 16:29.90. Junior Luke Kasunic (32nd, 17:05.50), sophomore Joseph Coddington (52nd, 17:25.60) and junior Carter Jacobson (58th, 17:33.00) rounded out the Indians’ point scorers.

SM Northwest was led by junior James Lang, who finished 36th with a time of 17:09.70. Senior Ben Lucier (40th, 17:13.60), sophomore Michael Scott (59th, 17:34.00), senior Trenton Schroeder (65th, 17:39.40) and sophomore Eric Maxon (74th, 17:49.10) rounded out the Cougars’ point scorers.

On the girls side, SM North took third as a team with a combined score of 73. They were preceded in the standings by Manhattan (72) and Lawrence Free State (72), and Olathe East (103) and Blue Valley North (122) rounded out the top five. SM Northwest finished sixth with 157.

The Lady Indians were led by junior Amber Reed, who finished fifth with a time of 19:18.10. Senior Samantha Taylor (ninth, 19:30.50), freshman Katie Kasunic (12th, 19:40.50), sophomore Cassie Raines (24th, 20:06.10) and sophomore Molly Ryan (36th, 20:21.80) rounded out the SM North point scorers.

Junior Camille Henderson (23rd, 20:03.40), junior Hannah Gruman (47th, 20:44.10), senior Camryn McDonald (58th, 20:56.70) and freshman Abby Winter (68th, 21:18.00) joined Born as the Lady Cougars’ point scorers.

Jon Poorman is the sports editor at The Dispatch. Follow him on Twitter at @JonPoorman for all of the latest community sports news.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.