Archive for Friday, October 16, 2015

Mill Valley cross country teams capture KVL titles

October 16, 2015

The Mill Valley cross country program dominated the competition at the Kaw Valley League Championships on Thursday afternoon at Shawnee Mission Park, as both the boys and girls teams took first place.

The boys captured their seventh straight KVL title with a team score of 20, beating out Tonganoxie (57), Lansing (72), Basehor-Linwood (93) and Bonner Springs (121).

The Jaguars were led by senior Derek Meeks, who won the individual title with a time of 16:32.34. Senior Garret Fields took second place (16:45.06), and sophomore Gavin Overbeck finished third (16:55.65). Sophomore Justin Grega (fifth place, 17:07.78) and junior Max Jones (10th, 17:30.87) rounded out the Jaguars’ point scorers. Sophomore Tyler Coad (11th, 17:32.59) and junior Braden Shaw (12th, 17:33.00) also competed.

The Mill Valley girls finished with a score of 28 to win the team title. They were followed by Lansing (38), Basehor-Linwood (87), Tonganoxie (87), Turner (145) and Bonner Springs (160).

The Lady Jaguars were led by senior Ellie Wilson, who took third place with a time of 20:05.78). Freshman Delaney Kemp (fourth place, 20:15.50), junior Anna Clayborn (sixth, 20:19.15), sophomore Britton Nelson (seventh, 20:19.62) and senior Amber Akin (eighth, 20:32.15) rounded out the Mill Valley point scorers. Sophomore Emma Tibetts (17th, 22:01.40) and Christine Lust (30th, 24:22.50) also competed.

Jon Poorman is the sports editor at The Dispatch. Follow him on Twitter at @JonPoorman for all of the latest community sports news.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.