Archive for Thursday, April 21, 2016

Mill Valley journalists awarded

April 21, 2016

The Mill Valley High School journalism department won several awards last weekend at the Journalism Education Association/National Scholastic Press Association national high school journalism convention in Los Angeles.

The department earned its second NSPA Pacemaker of the year for the Mill Valley News Online website. The Pacemaker is commonly referred to as the Pulitzer Prize of high school journalism and is awarded annually to select schools. MVNews editors in chief are seniors Justin Curto and Jena Smith.

The JagWire newspaper also won a Pacemaker for its 2015 edition in November.

Senior Justin Curto, who was named the Kansas High School Journalist of the Year in March, was one of six runners-up honored in the national high school journalist of the year contest. He won a $850 scholarship. Curto will attend the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University in the fall.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.