Archive for Thursday, February 1, 2018

Mill Valley swim and dive wins Lansing Boys Senior Meet; SJA 3rd, DHS 6th

February 1, 2018

The Mill Valley boys swim and dive team won a closely-contested Lansing Boys Senior Meet on Tuesday.

The Jaguars finished with a team score of 267 to edge Lansing by two points for first place. St. James wasn't far behind in third with 257 points. De Soto finished sixth with 94 points to round out the Shawnee area teams that were in action.

Mill Valley set the tone in the first event by winning the 200-yard medley relay. Chris Sprenger, Ethan Forristal, Carter Lawson and Colby Beggs clocked in with a time of 1:46.44.

The Jaguars kept on rolling with a dominant showing in the 200-yard IM. Beggs (time of 2:19.76), Noah Collins (2:36.83) and Noah Kemper (2:41.79) finished second through fourth.

Lawson and Sprenger both won one of their individual events to help the Jaguars clinch the team title. Lawson swam a first-place time of 1:00.32 in the 100-yard butterfly, while Sprenger posted a winning time of 58.75 in the 100-yard backstroke. Sprenger also chipped in a third-place finish in the 50-yard freestyle.

Sprenger's performance in the 50-yard freestyle was one of three third-place finishes for the Jaguars. Forristal took third in the 100-yard freestyle and joined Sprenger, Avery Lawson and Gavin Fangman on the Jaguars' third-place 400-yard freestyle relay team.

The Thunder also won three events en route to their third-place team finish. Nick Callahan garnered gold in the 50-and 100-yard freestyle with respective times of 22.14 and 49.69. Adam Orel accounted for the Thunder's other first-place performance with a time of 2:19.31 in the 200-yard IM. Orel had one of two second-place individual finishes for the Thunder after clocking in at 1:01.62 in the 100-yard butterfly. Danny Feist had the other with a time of 1:15.61 in the 100-yard breaststroke.

St. James also had two third-place finishers in Zach Kurland (200-yard freestyle) and John Matulis (500-yard freestyle). Matulis was right behind Kurland in the 200-yard freestyle after taking fourth.

De Soto was led by Andre VanMeerhaeghe, who won the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:13.87. VanMeerhaeghe also took fourth in the 500-yard freestyle and joined Andrew Blazo, Eli Gratz and Jose Banuelos on the Wildcats' fifth-place 200-yard medley relay team. Blazo added a ninth-place finish in the 200-yard IM, while Gratz took sixth in the 100-yard butterfly. Cale Marquis contributed the final top-10 individual performance after placing eighth in the 100-yard freestyle.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.